March? This year is flying by so fast! I haven't been on to update this in like a week, but better late than never, right?
Anyways, back to sounding super old and whining that the year is going by way too fast. I'm not complaining given the winter we are experiencing, I can NOT wait for Spring and Summer! Also... March means I get to go to Georgia to visit my hubby! I'm so excited and anxious about this in so many different ways! Obviously, I am excited to actually be able to physically touch and hug my husband let alone have a real conversation that is more than the 10 minute phone call I get once every two months. Further more, I can kiss his handsome face!! Ahhh!! It's so exciting! But I still have to figure out what the heck I am going to wear! (Those darn life choices, they are always so difficult). But I get to hear all of his stories he wants to share because, as I said before, Shane is the talker, and boy does he like to talk. I'm going to have three solid days of just listening when I see him but, I am A-OK with that. And I get to bake some cookies to take down to him which I know he is SUPER excited for. In person. Real life. True story. Eeek! : )
However, I am anxious about the 15 hour car ride to Georgia to see my soldier... with the in-laws. Sounds like the beginning of a comedy or a horror story, doesn't it? Don't get me wrong, I love my in-laws but I don't like to spend 15 hours straight with anyone, let alone while being confined in a car. I was reassured though that my Mother In Law has bought games for us to play on the way down... Yay! Not. I plan on drinking a bottle of NyQuil and sleeping the entire 15 hours. (Just kidding). I am excited because it will be "bonding time" with them and ever since I've been with Shane I have had a terrific relationship with them. Buuuuut, (there's always a but in there some where) I truly HATE being in the car. It's boring, my legs get sore (Restless Leg Syndrome), I get irritable, and well, it's boring. And what the heck are we going to talk about for 15 hours? The weather? Any suggestions, please comment below *be nice*.
However, I am anxious about the 15 hour car ride to Georgia to see my soldier... with the in-laws. Sounds like the beginning of a comedy or a horror story, doesn't it? Don't get me wrong, I love my in-laws but I don't like to spend 15 hours straight with anyone, let alone while being confined in a car. I was reassured though that my Mother In Law has bought games for us to play on the way down... Yay! Not. I plan on drinking a bottle of NyQuil and sleeping the entire 15 hours. (Just kidding). I am excited because it will be "bonding time" with them and ever since I've been with Shane I have had a terrific relationship with them. Buuuuut, (there's always a but in there some where) I truly HATE being in the car. It's boring, my legs get sore (Restless Leg Syndrome), I get irritable, and well, it's boring. And what the heck are we going to talk about for 15 hours? The weather? Any suggestions, please comment below *be nice*.
But, regardless and I am grateful. I am grateful they are willing to take the time out of their busy lives to go down with me so I didn't have to travel alone. I am grateful they are willing to come down and celebrate their son's success with us. I am grateful they are so loving and caring they didn't hesitate or anything when I asked they come along with me. I am grateful they are so supportive of Shane's choices in his life and of his new career. I am grateful they love us unconditionally!
So, now that we have cleared that out of the way, let me give you the update on the whole positivity in the work place situation. Boy, have I been STRU-GGA-LIN! (Extremely exaggerated "Struggling"). It's hard to stay positive when so many people are negative about their current work situations. Some of it is justified, some of it is just personality clashes, and some of it is just the history of the work place. However, being new to the place, I try to keep an open mind. I listen to every one's opinions/concerns and I do share my own occasionally but I really do try to limit my criticism and just identify things to praise in one another. I am trying to get everyone to see things work better when you work together and when you TRY to see the good in your coworkers and other people. Today (Monday), was a hard day for me. I was exhausted, I didn't want to get out of bed, I got to work and it seemed like one thing after the other was going wrong and I was just NOT in the mood. So today, I sucked. I was a Negative Nancy and I felt awful about it the whole way home. I had a little conversation in my head that I am setting myself up for failure, no one can always be positive, it's ridiculous to just talk about unicorns and rainbows out there when there are things that truly need to be discussed. But, then, a little voice spoke back to me telling me to focus on things that are true, right, and loving. I didn't know the verse at the time but when I got home and used the internet (I'll admit, I googled it) I found this verse: Philippians 4:8 as a guide: “Finally brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.” And that's when I said, "You're right. I'm sorry. I'll try again tomorrow!" As I mentioned in another post, I am making imperfect progress. Today, I screwed up. I was negative, I didn't uplift any one's spirits, and I didn't change the atmosphere when I had the opportunity to. Tomorrow is another day though and I am going to rock it.
My first step? Coffee Cake. Cinnamon Coffee Cake. Cinnamon Butterscotch Coffee Cake. That's right. I don't care who you are, coffee cake makes everything better. Everyone will gather round to enjoy it, they'll be grateful someone brought them in breakfast, and they'll start off the day knowing I made this as a way to show my appreciation of my coworkers! Plus, it's damn delicious if I do say so myself.
Second step? BE POSITIVE. I am going to be that overly happy excited person who is always high- fiving and shouting "YOU THE MAN!". Not really, I say things like "Wow, that was really impressive. You're an amazing teacher. We could never do this with out you. You contribute so much here, I truly appreciate you! All you can do is laugh!"
Third step?Pray. Pray that I have the strength to do that all day long no matter what and that I reach someone and truly make them feel appreciated. I want my "positivity" to spread through out the work place. I want it to become natural for us, as a team, to praise each other when we see it, rather than constantly criticize and bicker about one another.
Wish me luck this week!
This is a picture of the delicious Cinnamon Coffee Cake.. you can stop drooling now.
Leave a comment below and I'll give you the recipe! : )
No comments:
Post a Comment